banner USF Home College of Arts & Sciences OASIS myUSF USF A-Z Index

USF Home > College of Arts and Sciences > Department of Communication

Grazier Lecture

The Grazier Lecture is the keynote event of “Communication Day,” an annual celebration of the achievements of the department’s undergraduate and graduate students. Each year the department selects a renowned communication scholar to participate in the Communication Day events, deliver the Grazier Lecture, supervise an informal question and answer seminar session, and attend our Awards Dinner.

The Grazier Lecture is an endowed lecture made possible by a generous gift by Catherine Grazier Coit, who was an undergraduate major in the Department of Communication. Ms. Coit provided this gift in honor of her father, Allen C. Grazier, who was a great champion of public education in Florida, serving under two governors.

The following distinguished scholars have delivered the Grazier Lecture:

2015 Sarah Tracy, Arizona State University
2014 Kent Ono, University of Utah
2013 Ronald Arnett, Duquesne University
2012 Francois Cooren, Universite' de Montreal
2011 Steven Hartnett, University of Colorado, Denver
2010 Ron Pelias, Southern Illinois University
2009 Dana Cloud, University of Texas, Austin
2008 Karen Tracy, University Colorado, Boulder
2007 Bruce Gronbeck, University of Iowa
2006 Michael Hyde, Wake Forest University
2005 Tom Frentz, University of Arkansas
2004 Donna Nudd, Florida State University
2003 H. Lloyd (Buddy) Goodall, Arizona State University
2002 Larry Grossberg, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
2001 Marsha Vanderford, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
2000 John Stewart, University of Washington
1999 Paul Gray, University of Texas, Austin
1998 Alex Harris, Duke University
1997 Mark McPhail, University of Utah
1996 Kristen Langellier, University of Maine
1995 Carole Blair, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
1994 Glen Stamp, Ball State University
1993 None
1992 Bob Ivie, Indiana University
1991 Mark Knapp, University of Texas, Austin
1990 Sam Becker, University of Iowa
1989 Josh Meyrowitz, University of New Hampshire