banner USF Home College of Arts & Sciences OASIS myUSF USF A-Z Index

USF Home > College of Arts and Sciences > Department of Communication

2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006 Archive Listing

2006 News Archives

December 2006:

» Marcy Chvasta was elected secretary, and Michael LeVan was elected member-at-large, for the Performance Studies Division of the National Communication Association.

» Tony Adams, Beverly Borawski, and Robin Boylorn have been selected to receive the Fall 2006 "Publication Award for Doctoral Students" and their major professors, respectively, Art Bochner, Ken Cissna, and Carolyn Ellis, are receiving the "Faculty Mentor Award" from the College of Arts and Sciences. 

» The Fall Graduation Reception for Communication majors was well-attended.


» Mariaelena Bartesaghi received two internal grants, a $1000 travel grant from the College of Arts and Sciences and a $4000 Innovative Teaching Grant from the Center for 21st Century Teaching Excellence to improve the undergraduate Interpersonal Communication course.

November 2006:

» Art Bochner advances to NCA First Vice President. The 2007 National Communication Association Convention in Chicago will be planned by Professor Bochner and Convention Planning Assistant Wren Colker.

2006 Convention Planning Assistant Holly Moriarity, First VP and Primary Planner Mike Sproule,
Second VP and 2007 Primary Planner Art Bochner, and 2007 Convention Planning Assistant Wren Colker.

» Congratulations Fall 2006 Lambda Pi Eta Inductees:

Jessica L. Battersby
Lauren A. Johnson
Richard P. Johnson
Elizabeth A. Mathis
Christina Miralla
Heather L. McKean
Nicole D. Papa
Heather M. Stewart
Hanna P. Tedros

October 2006:

» Accompanied by faculty sponsor Marcy Chvasta, graduate students Laura Bergeron, Sara Dykins Callahan, Roger Pippin, and Brianne Waychoff were honored to bring two invited performances to this year's Patricia Pace Performance Festival in New Orleans. Laura and Sara performed "Choosing Lamictal." Roger and Brianne performed "Free Counter-Clock Divisions." Both performances were co-written and co-directed by the performers.

» Robin Boylorn, Antoine Hardy, and Shirlan Williams all received 2006 NCA graduate student travel grants.

» Art Bochner received one of USF's "Outstanding Research Achievement Awards" for 2006.

September 2006:

» Elizabeth Bell spent a week as Artist-in-Residence at Southern Illinois University-Carbondale at the invitation of the Department of Speech Communication. She visited classes and worked one-on-one with over twenty students, discussing ideas for shows, journal submissions, and dissertation projects. She presented the lecture, “Esperando al Puerto: Waiting at the Door of Kinship, Gender, and Performance,” in the Kleinau Theater to an audience of 100 students and faculty.

August 2006:

» Linda Vangelis defended her dissertation, Communicating Change: An Ethnography of Women’s Sensemaking on Menopause, Hormone Replacement Therapies, and the Women’s Health Initiative, and took a position as an assistant professor in the School of Communication at East Carolina University.

» Ken Cissna recently returned from serving as the “applied communication rapporteur” at the NCA sponsored summer institute, “Catching Ourselves in the Act: A Collaborative Planning Session to Enrich our Discipline through Social Constructionist Approaches,” in Albuquerque. Other USF faculty participating in the institute included Mariaelena Bartesaghi, Eric Eisenberg, and Lori Roscoe.

» Welcome New Faculty! We are pleased to announce the arrival of three visiting assistant professors for the 2006-07 academic year. Rachel Dubrofsky comes to us from the University of Illinois, and will be teaching courses in the areas of media studies and gender. Lori Roscoe comes to us from the USF Aging Studies program and will be teaching courses in communication and aging. Jon Leon Torn joins us from Penn State University, and will be teaching courses in public culture and media studies.

» Professor Ken Cissna takes over as department chair this year, while Professor Eric Eisenberg takes a much-needed break after nine years as chair.

April 2006: It was a performance studies sweep for USF at SSCA! All three USF performance studies faculty received awards at the Southern States Communication Association convention. Assistant Professor Marcyrose Chvasta received the Outstanding New Teacher Award; Assistant Professor Stacy Holman Jones recieved the Janice Hocker Rushing Early Career Research Award; and Associate Professor Elizabeth Bell was named Gender Scholar of the Year by the Gender Studies Division.

Winter 2006: Art Bochner and Tom Frentz edited a special issue of the Southern Communication Journal in honor of Janice Hocker Rushing”